Akseli Gallen-Kallela Award

Akseli Gallen-Kallela was one of the founding members of the Kalevala Society. An award of EUR 10 000 commemorating his life’s work is awarded every third year to an artist who has expanded, renewed or questioned the expressive language of the visual arts.

The previous Akseli Gallen-Kallela Award was granted by the Kalevala Society to artist Pilvi Takala on 27 February 2015.

Kekri Day Awards

Every year, the Kalevala Society grants the Kekri Day Awards for accomplishments in the fields of Finnish culture and cultural heritage. There are three award categories: for senior researchers and artists, young researchers and artists, as well as heritage practitioners and collectors.

Kekri Day Awards 2016

The board of the Kalevala Society granted the Kekri Day Awards for accomplishments in the fields of Finnish culture and cultural heritage to eight researchers, artists and experts. The awards were issued at the Kalevala Society Kekri Day conference 3rd November. The award for valuable work in the fields of science, art and culture was granted to professor emeritus Veikko Anttonen, docent, professor emerita Kaija Heikkinen, Doctor of Medical Science Antti Hernesniemi and docent Sinikka Vakimo. The young researcher’s award was granted to Ilona Korhonen. The award for heritage practitioners and collectors was awarded to sculptor Seppo Kalliokoski and collectors Maila Hietala, Salme Kokko and Pirkko Savolainen.

Kalevala Society Award

The Kalevala Society Award, EUR 10 000, is granted every three years to a person for great services rendered, through scientific or artistic activities, in making folklore, Kalevala or the national heritage better known.

The Kalevala Society Award was last granted to researcher Senni Timonen on 28 February 2014.

Epic Award

The Epic Award of the Kalevala Society was founded in 2009. It is granted for significant work with the Kalevala or other world epics.

The Epic Award was last granted to Yakup Lapatka for his significant work in translating Kalevala into belarussian.

The Kalevala Society granted the first Epic Award, EUR 5 000, to Bui Viet Hoa on Kalevala Day 28 February 2009 for her work in compiling a Vietnamese folklore epic and for translating the Kalevala into Vietnamese.